Social Media Benefits

Image representing YouTube as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

I have a Facebook page. Two written blogs. One personal I don’t share with certain family and friends. They would be judgemental and I could be talking about them. One I could careless who reads. I have a YouTube channel. Which I talk about natural hair and randomness of my life. I cannot see myself using twitter.

This all started when I wrote a book that a friend and I self published. It isn’t selling well so I don’t even want to discuss that issue. Well that is when I started in social media.

Then I got addicted to YouTube. Some of the tutorials and people lives on video. I never thought my life was that interesting. Also I wasn’t sure how much I would actually share on YouTube. I bought a camcorder because I was excited to get stated. It sat in its box for months. I kept thinking to myself would I really put myself out there. Then one day I said why not. What do I have to lose.

So I have 39 videos and climbing. Tutorials, opinions, product reviews. It is my own little news cast. When I am pregnant, I will chronicle it in weekly videos.

The boyfriend doesn’t understand this in any way. He actually refuses for me to even take a picture of him. I would never go behind his back and put it out there without his approval. I told him when the kids are here I am taking pictures. I won’t put him online, but my kids will have pictures of him. He will have to get over it.

I don’t know how social media has become my thing, but it is. My blogs and YouTube channel takes all my attention. I am not that big into Facebook. I go on there once a month maybe.

Well all this to say I did a video on service I was not pleased with. Yes I went on a rant and it was not pretty. The word sucks and never use them again came out. Which I was being honest . I was shocked by what happened next. The store I was complaining about contacted me via my YouTube channel. I guess they want to correct the issue.  They posted this long comment apologizing for the issues I encountered. They gave me contact information to give them a chance to make it better.

I have to say I was beyond shocked. I do not have a big following on this channel. I have one video that did get 5,000 + hits. I have no idea why that video is popular and what I did right. The others are not popular at all. Not even the video talking about this chain store. When they emailed me I had a total  of four hits. It had only been up three days.

Well I contacted them via email, as they requested. They are going to get back to me in the next 24 hours. I am very curious what will happened next. I will kept you posted. The powers of social media. More videos will be going up with any problems encounter from now on. You can believe that!!!  🙂

3 thoughts on “Social Media Benefits

  1. Pingback: MLM Training - Using Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube To Sponsor New Distributors - MLM Marketing Training by Brian Rakowski | Shaklee Distributors

  2. Superb blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I\\\’m planning to start my own site soon but I\\\’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I\\\’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas honesty556? Thanks!

    • I stay with the free. It is more of a hobby for me. I also like getting my feelings out there. There are blogs that turn into major money. The movie Dairy of a Wimpie Kid. That was a blog that had so many hits a book deal came about. Than a movie. There is also another blog the strange things white people do. I think that is the name of it. A man from Canada came up with it. That turned into a book deal. Also I spent money on a site than lost interest in it. I closed it. I also found an online class helpfull to understanding all of this. At a community college in my area. Gwinnett Techincal College here is the link http://www.ed2go.com/gwinnettce/
      I hope that helped.

Leave a Reply

