I have old lady habits

I think I have always had an old spirit. I have never been a mover or a shaker. I also can be an introvert at times. Some of my friends give me lectures and speeches on needing to change. I don’t want to change. I like me. I don’t think there is anything wrong with me. Who do I need to conform to is my questions? If I am content then I don’t see a problem.

Granted I do need to take a vacation one of these days. That does not include going to Boston. I always feel guilty about taking a vacation when I owe people. Such as credit cards. I know it is crazy but I have financial insecurities. It is what it is.

Back to my old lady habits. I love to sleep. I can take a nap and enjoy every minute of it. I plan my nap on the weekends. When friends would call who had kids and they asked me what I was doing. My response would be “I am taking a I don’t have any kids nap.”

Those words are biting me in the ass now. LOL

I usually take a nap on my lunch break at work. I use to eat in the break room. For reason that could be its own post I stopped doing that. I started going to my car. I didn’t want to sit at my desk. That desk sees enough of me.

I started to lean my seat back and taking a mini nap. Now it is my thing. If I am not going out to lunch I am sleeping in the car. I get in set my cell  phone to wake me up and lean my seat all the way back then I am out.

I do choirs once a week. It is a habit from my grandmother. We cleaned the house on Saturdays. We were not allowed to do anything unless the house was clean. I moved it over and clean on Sundays. Usually because I am a procrastination. It is not that my Saturdays are so busy. I love starting the week with a clean house. When I don’t I feel off.

I am very routine oriented. I don’t like my routine disturbed. I don’t know if that has to do with living alone. When you live alone everything can be your way. It isn’t a problem, no one else is there to care. That might not work when and if the boyfriend moves in. It has been put on the table.

I over shop for food. There is something about always having food in the house. Another one of my grandmothers traits. I am also cheap like her. Now that I think about it. Maybe I don’t have old lady habits. I have my grandmother’s habits who was old when I was growing up. She had my mother in her early 40’s and my mother was 26 when she had me. So Nana was in her 60’s when I was born.

I love that I have her traits. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. It makes me, ME. I like me!!!

3 thoughts on “I have old lady habits

  1. I so feel like I could have written most of this post myself. We could be twins from another life. Most of my friends don’t understand how content I am with myself either. I usually just laugh and tell them that I was never a child, instead I have always been old. I like to think that my friends who spend so much time running around are just not content being with themselves. I on the other hand am perfectly content at home with a good book and good nap. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I need a day off!! « Yeah, I am on My Soapbox

Leave a Reply

