What happens after the wedding?

Wedding Dress For Happy Couple in Love

Image by epSos.de via Flickr

I was talking to a friend about the unhappy married people we know. There is a running theme that they wanted the wedding more than the marriage. Me being the self-proclaimed tom boy, I don’t even want a wedding. If I happen to stumble on the man for me, I want to elope.

Why waste all that money and time at this point. I do understand the princess for a day and all that crap. The people I know who have planned their wedding always seem to be unhappy on the day of the wedding. Something goes wrong and they don’t seem to enjoy the event at all.

I am not that close to a lot of family members. So I would not be willing to pay money per plate for people to eat, that I do not talk to on a regular basis. That is just me. To each their own. There is one particular girl who was so damn happy while planing their wedding. The moment they moved in with each other she has been frown central.

I know relationships are hard. I also know living with someone is a challenge. I have lived with my share of boyfriends. I don’t know her intentions. I just have a feelings she was more into the wedding than the marriage.

People get married for all types of reasons. Some marriages have lasted far beyond my anticipation. Something is making them work. Or they or living in madness and hanging on for what ever reason.

I can’t judge these people who knows what I would do under the correct circumstances. Sometimes I understand how a few of my friends are envious of my single life.  I guess I am starting to realize the grass isn’t always greener.

6 thoughts on “What happens after the wedding?

  1. I love how real you are and how you tell it straight. And how you’re honest with what you feel and want. For whatever reason, it’s helpful for me to read this post right now. You’re right, the grass is not always greener and I think we’re better off when we try and tune in to our feelings, even though they can be hard to hear above the roar of life and expectations sometimes.

    • I get caught up in the fantasy and why am I not married. Why do I not have children. Why do these women not appreciate what they have. I am blessed and I was caught up in the fantasy. I am talking to a nice guy right now. But if I had a flood of cash come into my life. I would tell him see you later and have my babies. That is my real focus if I had the money that is.

      • I know what you mean about the fantasy. And I want my own family too. But I want it with a man I adore or else it won’t be a very fun ride, I think. My deepest longing right now is for companionship and a shared life. If I had a lot of money, I might do IVF, because that’s the last step to make me feel like I really tried and didn’t let the chance to become a mom pass me by.

        So are you saying you would not be dating if you could just be focusing on having a baby on your own? You know, there are ways that are less money – let me know if you want to hear about the donor route I tried for a while.

      • The economy hit me bad. Not only can I not afford the cost to get pregnant. I can’t afford daycare. The bueaty of having two incomes. If I had both those things. Or even if I could work daycare into my budget. I would charge getting pregnant. If I was home in Boston I could do it. My parents are retired and can watch the children for free. Life never goes as planned.

  2. When I was engaged I was all about the wedding, he complained and we scaled it back to house deal with a few friends. I realzied I didn’t like him all that much and the excitement was about the wedding. The best thing I ever did was call it off.

Leave a Reply

