I am really doing this!!

I am in a state of shock. I can’t believe I am moving to Boston in a few weeks. I know I wanted this, but I am freaked out. I quite my job. I gave my notice yesterday. I ultimately got shorted a few vacation days. They have rules this year they will only reimburse you for three weeks vacation. I had a few more days than three weeks. If I knew that I would have come into the office later in the week. Oh well it is done.

My cousin said I should still try to apply for unemployment when I get to Boston. All they can say is no. Which is true. I know the lady at the moving company is annoyed with me. I keep calling her and asking random questions. I am nervous. For a lot of reason. I have never left a job without another job. Granted I have been fired a few times. Which is a long story and I still claim innocence in those situations. I have not been with out a money stream since 1993. When I first went to college. I didn’t get a job until my second semester. Thinking back I have always had money coming in. I have worked since I was 14 years old. I remember going downtown Boston to get my working papers. So I can legally work at such a young age. Granted I do have savings. Still not having a job is so different for me.

When I get to Boston I need health insurance. I am still insured at my job, but I can’t afford Cobra. That crap is ridiculous. I just charged my car insurance. Things are really coming together. I got a decent premium. I told my cousin and anyone who will listen I am in a traumatic state about moving home. He told me to suck it up. I truly need to. It is happening. I am waiting for my friend and cousin to come over. I need to get the final packing done. Going to do a few load of laundry. The leasing company are coming to pick up the washer and dryer. Things are going quickly. I need to catch up in my brain.

3 thoughts on “I am really doing this!!

  1. Sending you lots of good luck! Moving is a huge deal, so I understand why you’re feeling stressed out. Hope things go as smoothly as possible. I think it’s a great choice to be closer to family with your baby.

      • I hear you. Your life and priorities have really changed, right? You don’t need to be in perfect shape or anything, in my opinion, to go home feeling proud and accomplished. You have a baby!! That’s accomplishment enough. And as you said, you’ve been working and have done very well for yourself. You’ll get back on your feet soon enough with work – enjoy the time off is what I say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

