Ava Special Needs

Well I went public. My blog is not inline with my YouTube channel. To be honest folks, I write a lot of these in advance. Then schedule them out to keep them going. It is all my life just not in real time. Sometimes!!! Unless I had a hard day and just needed to write.

This works for me to keep my blog alive weekly. Instead of letting it go for months with the lack of time in my life.

So Ava is autistic. I few of you guys figured it out. I am not embarrassed or ashamed. That is not the reason I didn’t answer anyone’s questions. I was going through a lot. Had to get a lot in place for my child. Had to work on her, and all her needs.

I had no idea what the word meant. I have cousin with autism. I really thought it was just hard to socialize and make friends. OMG it means a whole lot more than that. My closest friends and family has really been my comfort. When I was sitting in the doctors face. She approved my child for 25 hours a week of services. She said if there is no progress we will be having a different conversation the next time.

Well it has been a year. A lot of progress has been made in some areas. Not in all, but which can bother me at times. The therapist love to say we need to meet them where they are at. I met a mom and I have to steel what she said. I need to meet her where she needs to go not where she is at.

Early intervention think I am super mom. I feel I fall short from that title in many ways. I work a full time job. I have an hours worth of commute each way. I do go out my way to email them. Set goals I want to see happen. Sit down and talk to them when I can.

Tonight I wrote a proposal try and get parents evening and weekend training classes. I have not taken early childhood, speech or ABA classes. I need help in those areas so I can help my child.

I have already picked out her preschool. Please pray we get in. I have had a one on one with the assistant principal. I have things I want to work on implementing and goals I want her to reach. My baby is my pries possession. She will be doing testing for preschool hopefully this month. To start immediately when she turns 3 and the services end. Which in Massachusetts is 3.

Ok I know some will go into vaccines. I met a woman that delayed the vaccines and her daughter still got it. I did beat myself up for not doing a delayed schedule. Or some kind of way this is my fault. I had to let that go. None of that talk will help my daughter.

She will have challenges and I will be there to help her through everyone . …

6 thoughts on “Ava Special Needs

  1. Thanks for sharing more of your journey here. I had no idea which challenge Ava was experiencing. It sounds like you are doing SO much to support her and provide services that will be helpful to her learning and growth. The vaccine theory has never been proven scientifically as far as I know. There’s such a range of personalities/abilities on the autism spectrum. My little cousin does very well in school and is a sweet little girl. Do you know the blog, “The Lambton Worm”? Jenny has been blogging about her son and autism lately, in case you’re interested in reading/connecting. Sending good thoughts.

  2. You should check out Diary of a Mom’s Facebook page (she has a blog, too https://adiaryofamom.com). Her daughter might be much different than Ava, but she is great, is in your area, and is a great advocate for autistic people, both children and adults.

Leave a Reply

