IEP Meeting

This shit was hard. Early intervention told me they will come from a position of Ava strength. Even though I am well aware of my child issues. Some parents are not. They do not do well with people telling them all their children’s issues.
I thought to myself yes I know where Ava is at. I don’t want to hear a group of people running down my child either.
So there were ten of us in a small room. My advocate was there. He did ask some very good questions. I feel he didn’t change the outcome of the appointment. He did make me feel more at ease. I also felt the coordinator did come at me in a better way. I don’t know if she was having a good day. Or because I had my advocate put everyone on guard that I wasn’t playing.
SO I rejected the preschool. It is so late in the year they wanted to give my baby the ghetto school. My answer hell no. So she will not be starting school after she is three. It is easy to reject and be put back on the list. Then I am at the top of the list. If I took the preschool and requested a transfer I would be at the bottom of the list.
So she will start the summer program in July. Then her Preschool in September. I am praying I get the Preschool my new friend has. I met her on an autism website. She is my rock and I feel if we are in the same preschool. We will be a force to be reckoned with.
I went to a white school growing up. In a very white town. I noticed those parents banned together and got shit done. That is my plan if I can get Ava in that Preschool. Then our daughter will be in school together for two years.
Back to the IEP. So they only gave her two half an hour speech therapy and three hours of ABA. She will be in an ABA preschool.
So I disagreed with the hours for speech and ABA. I will have the reject those. They advised me to reject them and ask to revisit the issue after she is in preschool for a few months.
They did have a lot of good things to say about my baby. We were in the meeting for a good hour and a half. It was only an hour appointment. I had a lot of questions. I hate this process. I wish my baby didn’t have these struggles. All this is making me know my devotion to my child.
I will fight every battle and be there for every success. I don’t expect the school to do everything. I am on the waiting list for outside Aba and the time I need for speech therapy.
I am going to do everything in my power for my baby success.

Leave a Reply

