Apartment hunting

This is when being single sucks. I really want someone else opinion. An opinion of someone who would be living there also.

I am praying for my friend/roommate and her relationship with her mother. More drama happened this weekend. I am not getting into the story. It didn’t have anything to do with me and I don’t want this blog to be about gossip. I only write about things that affect me.

I know I want to be the person not affected by the situation. The reason I am looking for a place. But also be able to be a listen ear to my friend when she needs it. Stress is not good for me. I eat when I am stressed. Also it will not be good for trying to have a baby at all.

I went to six apartment complexes on Saturday. A few I turned around as soon as I drove in.  After going to all these places I know what I want. I want a safe, clean, no bugs place.  I am thinking I want a place with an alarm. I think it will make me feel safer. I am making a lot more money, I need to treat myself better. Not going crazy but no so cheap.

I am about to spend a lot of money on trying to get pregnant. Which I always have had  financial insecurities. I need to put on my big girl panties and get over it. There is a lot of people in a lot more debt then me. I only have a loan out for 10k with my credit union. I consolidated my debt. It was 15k so I am happy with what I paid down. I own my car, no school loans, minimal credit card debt (Under 300 bucks). So I am doing damn good. I should be proud of myself. I still always feel like I need to do better. I haven’t taken a vacation in years. Granted my financial situation was completely different from I stated.  My friend asked me to take a vacation. My focus is having a baby. Not getting in debt to sit on the beach. Not to say there is anything wrong with that.  It just not a priority to me at this moment.

Leaving my present situation, I figured might cost me an additional 400-500 a month. I am trying not to get in debt. Also saving money so when the baby or babies or born I can stay home as long as I desire within reason.

The hard part of this whole thing, I was very comfortable at my friend’s house. I know she loved having me. At least that is what she told me. Sh has no reason to lie. They have taught me things in a few short months and I appreciate the experience.

I have to say looking for an apartment sucks. I don’t want to be bamboozled.  The one place I loved got bad reviews when I did some research online. Now I know not to believe every review. But a person wrote a review of how they should have listen to the bad reviews. LOL!!! The one I will be looking at this week had a 89 percent recommendation.  Now that I know what I am looking for it will make it easier.

I am also going to try to find cheaper movers. A lot to do. I would love to be on my way by March 1 st but we will see. The other problem is how long of a lease to sign.

Living with my friends I had total freedom. If three months from now I think I hate living in Georgia I could leave. Now I am making a commitment via a lease. I might only sign a six month lease. I have to work that out. So much to do, so little time.

 

2 thoughts on “Apartment hunting

  1. I am in an apartment now and OMG I wish I had researched the reviews, I call it domestic violence central. My kid now says, mommy are the neighbours fighting again.

Leave a comment